I joined the Collaborative Curiosity: Designing Community-Engaged Research MOOC a couple of weeks ago because I’m interested in the topic, and I’m interested in cMOOCs as a form of network building, idea sharing and collaboration.  I have been Tweeting with the group using the #CuriousCoLab  hashtag and launched this blog on WordPress to be part of their aggregated blogs.

I introduced myself in the previous articles and now I want to share one of my strategy ideas I think is really important.  In this article on my blog, I responded to a recent New York Times article about violence in Chicago, by showing the Tutor/Mentor Connection strategy that I launched in Chicago in 1993. The link I provided points to a version that is being annotated using Hypothes.is   Anyone can add their own comments.

Below is a graphic that I created in 2012 and introduced on this blog article.

supplychain_1

I’ve numbered each stage in the planning process, and created a PDF that describes each step. In this link I show a video, created by an intern from South Korea, that also explains the strategy,.

This graphic emphasizes uses of maps to focus on ALL places where the “enemy/poverty” is concentrated.   Step 1 is an “intelligence gathering/research” process, of learning all we can about the problem, possible solutions, and resources needed to attack the problem in all places where it is concentrated.

Steps 2 to 6 focus in stages of planning that apply to any problem solving activity.

Step 7 is one that I focus on, but too many others gloss over.  Unless we can build, and sustain, public will over many years, we’ll not have the consistent resources we need to fight the battle effectively in all places where we need to fight it.

Those doing any form of research need to be thinking of how their research will be applied on an on-going basis to solve the problem they are researching.  On the Tutor/Mentor blog, which I’ve been writing since 2005, you can use the tags to read many past articles related to mobilizing resources and ideas to solve complex problems.

This could be an ongoing source of reading for students and faculty involved in community engaged research and the ideas could be applied in cities throughout the US and the world.

