If you read any of the articles tagged “learning” on the Tutor/Mentor blog, you will see how the work I do seeks to create a constantly expanding network of learners and people who are looking for ways to make the world a better place for everyone to live and raise families.

I’ve been participating in Connected Learning MOOCs since 2011 and this is constantly expanding my network. A few days ago Simon Ensor, a professor in France, who I met via the #clmooc network, posted a video on Twitter, in response to a question I’d raised.

I viewed the video this morning and hope you’ll take time to do so yourself.

The presenter, Otto Scharmer, concludes by describing this as this as “education as global movement building“.

While listening to the video I looked up Scharmer and found two articles that included the same graphics that he was using in the video. Here and Here.

scharmer

Toward the end of the video Scharmer shows this graphic showing a process that starts with “learning” from past experiences (upper left) and results in actions resulting from engagement (upper right) of the whole universe of stakeholders.

In one of my systems thinking articles I use a different set of graphics to describe this process. As I looked at the video, and saw how an orchestra leader, combined the audience, star singer, and musicians into one powerful performance, I thought of the graphic shown below, which I use in many articles, such as this ,about intermediaries.

TMCrole1

To create a better future, many people need to be in this role, helping many others get involved and maximize their own contribution.  I’ve often described my role as an “orchestra conductor trying to get many different musicians, with different levels of talent, to perform, using the same musical score.”  In my case, I also have needed to find and recruit the musicians, rent the hall where they meet, do the advertising and publicity to attract an audience, and find sponsors and donors who will cover the costs.

Not easy.

My own work is not nearly as well defined, sophisticated or far reaching as the work being done by Otto Scharmer, but I hope by looking at his video and reading his articles you’ll have a better idea of what I’ve been trying to do.

